top of page
Friends of Chaddesden Wood logo

EVENTS

BUG HUNT
Saturday 8 June

Come and survey Chaddesden Ancient Wood and add to our lists of mini-beasts and plants as we enrich our knowledge about Derby's most important woodland.

You can discover the fascinating creepy-crawlies living here, exploring under fallen logs, into the long grass and through the trees and bushes. We have an expert on hand to help identify the creatures that are found.

Children under 15, must be accompanied by an adult.

CONSERVATION TASK EVENTS

Conservation task events are held monthly, usually on the first Saturday of the month from 10:00 am to 12:00 noon. There will be no events during August, because of holidays. Everyone is welcome to participate, however please wear appropriate footwear and clothing. These will be publicised on notice boards, and circulated by email to all registered members, during the week prior to the event.

 

Task events for 2024 will be held on:

Saturday 6 January 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Saturday 3 February 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Saturday 2 March 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Saturday 6 April 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Wednesday 4 May 2024 (18.00 - 20.00)

Saturday 1 June 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Saturday 6 July 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Saturday 7 September 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)
Saturday 5 October 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)
Saturday 2 November 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

Saturday 7 December 2024 (10.00 - 12.00)

MANAGEMENT MEETINGS

As part of the Derby City Council Green Spaces working arrangement,

management meetings are held during the year, they will comprise:

 

​Annual General Meeting

January 2025, date be confirmed, 19.00 - 21.00 hrs.

Venue to be confirmed, nearer to the event.

Outdoor Management Meeting 2025

Mid April 2025, 18.00 - 20.00 hrs.

Meet at the Springwood Drive entrance to the wood.

Friends of Chaddesden Wood Diary

You can download our diary of events for 2024 below:

bottom of page